Ice Nine Kills - 'The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood' Hand-Signed CD

REACDFEAR01828XX $17.25
Ice Nine Kills' new album is just around the corner!

'The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood' is due out on October 29, and this is your chance to snag a signed copy!

We've heard it. The whole thing is amazing. And we've teamed up with the band and their label, Fearless Records, to offer you this CD version of the album, complete with an insert hand-signed by the whole band!

The record features guest appearances from Jacoby Shaddix, Corpsegrinder, Brandon Saller, Buddy Nielsen and Ryan Kirby, and the tracklisting looks like this...

01. Opening Night…
02. Welcome To Horrorwood
03. A Rash Decision
04. Assault & Batteries
05. The Shower Scene
06. Funeral Derangements
07. Rainy Day
08. Hip To Be Scared (feat. Jacoby Shaddix)
09. Take Your Pick (feat. Corpsegrinder)
10. The Box (feat. Brandon Saller of Atreyue & Ryan Kirby of Fit For A King)
11. F.L.Y. (feat. Buddy Nielsen of Senses Fail)
12. Wurst Vacation
13. Ex-Mørtis
14. Farewell II Flesh

CDs are due to be dispatched around release date.

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews
Grace Johnson
The Silver Scream 2: Welcome to Horrorwood ⭐⭐⭐

There are a few songs worth mentioning that were well executed in reflection of their film and narrative: "Assault and Batteries", "F.L.Y." and "Farewell II the Flesh."

As one can tell, "Assault and Batteries" received the most attention. In reminisce of the previous "Silver Scream" album, the song included more elements of the film's diologue and scenes. Additionally, the sound bites assist in recreating the atmosphere of "Child's Play." The song was also featured in a well developed music video. The amount of thought and care with Chucky's theme overshadows some of the other songs.

For instance, "The Box" was a well anticipated song but fell flat. As mentioned in the previous review-"An Introduction to "The Silver Scream 2: Welcome to Horrorwood"- Hellraiser was a frequent request on the Psychos Only App discussion post. When asked what film to work with, Ice Nine Kills received numerous posts suggesting the Hell Priest. Pinhead is a very iconic character in American Horror. Yet, why does his song seem limited?

Now, in regards to one of the well executed pieces, "F.L.Y." is a work of poetry. The nod to this classic film has a great musical progression. Additionally, the lyrics paint the story of the scientist who admits to "playing God." The scientist's ambition is written well in the song; "I'm thinking/ I spent my life/ Learning to fly." The ironic twist is appreciated- from soaring towards success while only flying towards a grave mistake. Ultimately, the song may seem simple, but there was thought in word play.

There are songs that demonstrate a sense of unnecessary repetition. Thematically, the choice to have two songs that represent a similar theme on the same album does not seem to be a good tactic. With "The Shower Scene," the band captures the original feelings of "Psycho." Yet, "Hip to be Scared," is essentially the modern twist to the classic. Although the stories may be technically different, they should not exist at the same time on an album. Such a criticism may seem harsh, but thematically, repetition can be a minor setback for the overall cohesion of a piece. Similarly, the repetition of phrases found throughout various songs minimizes the feeling of experiencing new material.

Another drawback of the "Silver Scream 2: Welcome to Horrorwood" is the presence of unfamiliar references. Not everyone may have seen film's such as "Hostel" and "Cabin Fever." The matter is also in reflection of unclear execution. The lyrics to these songs are misleading in terms of narrative. Furthermore, the vocals in "Wurst Vacation" are nearly inaudible which creates more confusion in discerning the film referenced. A similar issue of miscommunication exists in the songs, "Rainy Day" and "Ex-Mortis." Although the latter has great instrumentals, the song does not paint a clear representation of the film "Evil Dead." Upon first listening to "Ex-Mortis," the jazzy undertones are reflective of voodoo. In other words, the song embodies the undead rather than the demonic presence found within the film. In regards to "Rainy Day," the prime reason why one knows that the inspiration came from a video game was that the song received a music video and advertisement to promote the piece. The Umbrella symbolism is the only indicator that relates "Rainy Day" with the popular "Resident Evil" video game series. Additionally, the added sound bites are incohesive to the song's overall execution. Perhaps there could have been more lyrical examples of the issues surrounding the game- the way Umbrella experiments with human lives to create monsters of mass destruction. The song would have been stronger if the narrative presented the vanishing point of one of the game's characters. As it stands, "Rainy Day" has the vague experience of a game player; rather than, a character in the story.

Overall, the second "Silver Scream" album does not live up to its hype. True, Ice Nine Kills is a clever and skilled band- yet, even the greatest of artists can have a setback. Perhaps time was the main issue. Should they have taken the same amount of dedication to each of their songs as evident in "Assault and Batteries," then there would be no confusion. Furthermore, one should not expect to craft a good song with a lack of unfamiliarity- as suspicion points into the direction of "Rainy Day" and even "Hellraiser." Of course, the band may know the references of which they draw inspiration from. On the other hand, how much do they know about the two series? Selecting a portion of the series and writing in reference to that piece of narrative would have better helped in narrowing their focus on what they wish to embody through their song. That is a harsh but honest critique.

Andras Gonczlik

All good - the product is brilliant